Skip to main content

Welcome to the 2019 Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists. The nomination period is now closed. Letters of Support are due by Wednesday, November 28, 2018 at 11:59 PM PT.

The Blavatnik National Awards celebrate the excellence of outstanding young faculty-rank scientists and engineers from approximately 300 invited institutions across the United States. The Blavatnik National Awards recognize exceptional individuals and their accomplishments in the areas of Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemistry. One Blavatnik National Laureate will be selected from each disciplinary category and will receive $250,000 in unrestricted funds.

Institutional nominations must be submitted by the institution’s President, Provost, or the President’s official designee (official designees must notify of the delegation of responsibilities). Each institution may nominate up to three individuals, one for each disciplinary category (Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemistry).

If you have any questions or experience technical difficulties, please contact the Blavatnik Awards team at or 212.298.8624 (Monday through Friday, 9AM - 5PM ET).


Brooke Grindlinger, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer
Scientific Programs & Blavatnik Awards
The New York Academy of Sciences